Covid Stuck In My Mouth

Corona virus, I won’t forget how you 
forced open my closed red mouth,
								hidden behind a mask

How you poured your viral-genetic-poison-sugar bag
down my unsuspected mouth.
									choked.

Filled my lungs with cement,
made me cough up asphalt from my weathered mouth.
								roomate’s fear stuck
									unannounced 

You tied a ribbon around my neck,
you put cotton balls down my clenched mouth,
									deep inside my
									throat.

You clawed through my mask
and put your dirty fingers in my unprotected mouth,
						               used my uvula as a fidget
							       toy.

I just want to breathe,
but I’m coughing stale breath from my already dead mouth.
							        Covid took away
								a mother’s little boy,

And then it sewed Grant shut like
a doll head’s mouth. 

Published by Grant McLaughlin

Poet and Journalist. email me story ideas and feedback at Grant.jour@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started