We Used To

By Grant McLaughlin

We used to chill with naked
feet under the covers,
now I can only see you in my dreams lover.

We used to hold hands,
now we just hold cell phones.

SO when I see you when I'm asleep 
I weep for the love we killed,
bleeding out in my dreams.

We used to walk in the park,
now I walk alone at night waiting
for the Devil to take the soul you gave me.

I used to run my hands through your hair,
Now they strum a guitar and the notes
call out for the one I sing to,
the one I long for.

We used to make love,
now we're making friends.

You gave me a heart to love,
and now I wish you never had.

If it ain't you I don't want it.
The love we had. 

Published by Grant McLaughlin

Poet and Journalist. email me story ideas and feedback at Grant.jour@gmail.com

One thought on “We Used To

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started